The Mataatua Sports Awards 2012 turned out to be a successful event.  The calibre of the award nominees was very high. There was a high standard with athletes achieving at a national level.

Past winners of the personality of the year award have included rugby league players Benji Marshall, and Wairangi Koopu, basketballer Leanne Walker, and rugby players Exia Edwards and Matua Parkinson and this year the title went to golden girl Lisa Carrington whom won gold in the K1 200m at the 2012 London Olympics.

Lisa Carrington also went along to win the Mataatua Senior Sportswoman of the year. Senior Sportsman was awarded to George Thomas.  Other winners on the night included Mererangi Paul who won the junior sportswoman category and Kieran Coates and Ash Roozendaal who shared the junior sportsman trophy.

This year’s Sportsperson with a disability went to Matthew Lack, while Lizette Te Kiri was judged the top sports administrator.

Mataatua sports coach of the year was awarded to waka ama coach Ranj Rapana, who coached waka ama, while the top sports team award went to the Hoe Awhio waka ama team.

This year’s award for outstanding marae was given to the host of the event, Kutarere Marae, while the Wharekaihua Coates memorial taonga  for outstanding contribution to sport was awarded to Chris Majoribanks.